2 Hour Glucose Tolerance Test (GTT)

The dreaded test. Some people call it the Gestational Diabetes test, the blood sugar test, etc. Ultimately, regardless if it is a 1 hour, 2 hour, or 3 hour test, it is to test your tolerance to glucose and how efficiently your body’s insulin manages it. Over the years I have taken all of the tests, but this was my first time doing a 2 hour. Nobody ever directly told me why I was doing the 2 hour out the gate, but I gather it was due to my BMI. Can that system of measuring “health” go away yet? It was created to calculate mass by a mathematician for goodness sakes. Anywho, I digress.

For the 2 hour it meant that I fasted and had my blood drawn before having to chug 75 grams of a room temp fruit punch flavored glucose drink. It was like drinking the syrup that goes on a shave ice cone. Gag. Then I waited for an hour while my blood sugar started to spike. As I got close to the hour mark I felt awful. My vision was blurry, stomach felt upset, and my hands were shaking. When I was called back for the 1 hour blood draw, I almost lost my balance too. Yikes. I really try to stay away from high sugar content and I felt it.

Thankfully, to eat up some of the waiting time I had a Midwife appointment after the 1 hour blood draw. Unfortunately for me, it was Jamie, the one I had for my first visit that I really didn’t like. If only, I had looked at my appointment history while there was time to change the provider. Oh well.

By the time I got back to the little waiting room for the few of us going through GTT, I didn’t have to wait too much longer before my final blood draw.

Thankfully, my lab results were beautiful, No GD! What a blessing to have made it through 5 pregnancies without experiencing GD. There really is no guarantee that because I hadn’t had it before that this pregnancy was going to be any different, so it was relief to read the numbers.

Below are my results followed by what they had to be under in order to pass the 2 hour GTT:

Fasting – 75 (<92)
1 Hour – 151 (<180)
2 Hour – 138 (<153)

Leave a comment