May I Introduce

 

150_150_p9130218

Al & Amy

Greetings from Nebraska! We want to introduce ourselves and tell you our story. We live in Omaha, NE and have been married for 3 years. Al owns a convenient store and I work as an elementary school paraprofessional. We are both originally from the Omaha area and have made it our home.

After several years of dating, we were married in September of 2013  (It took Al a little while to ask the question :). In January of 2014, I suffered a stroke at the age of 37. While I was in the hospital for a month and had 6 months of therapy to regain the use of my right side, I am so blessed to have made a complete recovery. We are so thankful to our medical team as they found the cause of my stroke. I have Factor V, which caused blood clots and 2 bleeds to the brain. I guess I learned that the hard way 🙂 Needless to say, it is all behind us and I have tremendous doctors who have helped me recover. I also had a hysterectomy in 2015 because of a history of breast and ovarian cancer. Both my mom and sister are cancer survivors! I was tested positive for the gene, so we knew a hysterectomy was the best option.

We are a couple who enjoy life to the fullest in a very simplistic, easy going way. We enjoy traveling, playing games, the outdoors, sporting events, watching our nephews, spending time with family and friends and living every day to the fullest. The two of us spend a lot of time at the kitchen table talking about the day we each have had, planning our week, or trying to beat each other in games. (A little friendly competition is never too bad) With laughter, fun and hard work we make the best out of every opportunity.

Our values center around love, respect and acceptance. The love we have for each other and our family is abundant. We respect people for who they are and who they want to be. We have learned to accept people and things the way they are and it certainly makes life much easier for everyone.

Al and I are in our early 40’s. It is our dream and in our hearts to become parents. Al comes from a big family and has 3 other siblings all living here as well. I have an older sister living in California, a step brother who lives outside of San Antonio, and 2 half sisters who live in Virginia.

We have been pursuing adoption since April of 2015, but have yet to be matched.

 

20161021_1025561

Amy & Me

 

Leave a Reply

