We’re Half Way There

IMG_20150722_192926[1]IMG_20150728_230609[1]20150729_192532[1]

This past Wednesday was a big day! It marked 20 weeks pregnant, the half way point, anatomy ultrasound, and doctor appointment. The ultrasound went well but baby boy was being stubborn staying head and face down which was causing his spine to cast a shadow. As a result I will be going back next week for another ultrasound to get clearer images of a few vitals that we weren’t able to get.

Other than his stint of reenacting the dancing frog, surro baby is healthy and growing right along. He has been making his active self more and more known. My husband was able to feel one of the dance routines with his hand the other day. It seems so much earlier than with my own, but I have heard that with each one you notice things sooner. Just like my daughters though, I can almost tell what time it is at night by the level of activity I’m experiencing. Right around 10:30 pm he tends to go a little crazy, practicing his soccer kicks and dance moves.

Braxton Hicks also started up around 19 weeks, but I was expecting that based on my previous pregnancies. Apparently my uterus really likes to be well toned for D-Day. It must be why my deliveries are so speedy!

I will be having one more appointment with my doctor here in Texas before going back to my OB/GYN in California. More on that topic later but long story short I am having a rather unique first surrogacy journey that includes temporary relocation.

  • She’s got working taste buds.
  • Now, she’s gulping down several ounces of amniotic fluid each day — that’s significantly more than before.

Pregnancy Symptoms at 20 Weeks

  • Vaginal discharge. You can expect this to keep increasing until delivery.
  • Leg cramps. Be sure to do stretches and drink plenty of water.
  • Heartburn and/or indigestion, as baby starts to crowd your digestive sytem.
  • High energy — and libido (grrr)
  • Mild swelling. Don’t worry. This should subside after delivery. In the meantime, put up your feet.
  • Shortness of breath. As your uterus expands, it pushes against your lungs.

http://www.thebump.com/pregnancy-week-by-week/20-weeks-pregnant

Leave a Reply

